Howdy, Stranger!

It looks like you're new here. If you want to get involved, click one of these buttons!

Newsroom

Comments

• I am a theoretical physicist and I hate to say that most if not all the things claimed in this topic are wrong.. Screamin, what you're saying doesn't make much sense..
    I'll try to explain a little bit..

First off, it's impossible to prove a theory is complete right. You can prove it isn't wrong, and if there is enough evidence for this, it will be generally accepted.
    Einstein wasn't wrong (it was around 1910 when he came up with special relativity). The light speed IS a barrier that cant be passed. Only particles that dont have a mass can travel at light speed. The neutrino (the particles they are talking about) has recently been found to have a very small mass.
    If a particle travels faster than light, this gives problems with causality. Because if you are standing next to the detector in Italy you will first see the neutrino get absorbed and shortly after you will see the neutrino be created in CERN.
    Einstein already stated that there could be particles that always go faster than light (called katyons) but these particles could never go slower than light speed. So now it's under discussion if this particle only went for a short time over the light speed or the whole time (cuz they can only measure the average velocity).
    MOre info on demand ;)