Howdy, Stranger!

It looks like you're new here. If you want to get involved, click one of these buttons!

Scavenger Hunt

Comments

• I was also a political science major that focused on theory and then went to law school. It's required to keep these lol.
  • Ditto. :) I really enjoyed that particular book out of all the ones I studied. Some of it was a little crazy imo, but I like how he relates goodness and virtue to respect and duty, and discusses how actions done for reward, to avoid punishment, or simply because you happen to feel like it, don't actually qualify as moral actions. I don't really agree with his conclusion that the moral and eternal worth of a person is solely dependent on their submission to moral constraints though. Good actions lose a lot of value in my mind if they are done grudgingly, just because someone feels like they 'have' to. I'm not particularly happy with how he says that is better than doing something good because you genuinely enjoy helping people. I see where the argument comes from, but still...

That's probably too much, but it's interesting stuff to think about. :P
  • Well Mal, it's been 6 days and you're the only poster so far. I guess we might not need another round. I know it's been Christmas, but I'm still kinda surprised. :P I might give this a couple more days, then declare Mal the winner in absence of continuing competition.
  • edited June 2014
    Turns out my father had some books on Confucius:

[Deleted Pic :(]
  • Turns out my father had some books on Confucius:

OOO confucius....can I post a pic of myself too? Afterall I am Chinese and have all the wisdom of the billion chinese forefathers before me...
  • edited December 2011

OOO confucius....can I post a pic of myself too? Afterall I am Chinese and have all the wisdom of the billion chinese forefathers before me...
    Round 9 Start!

Books of Philosophy!

(Plural. Must feature philosophers who have been dead for a minimum of 200 years.)