Howdy, Stranger!

It looks like you're new here. If you want to get involved, click one of these buttons!

serious discussion (Panic attacks)

edited September 2014 in General
does anyone else here have panic attacks?
i've been getting them really bad the last few weeks and i wonder if anyone has an experience in how to make them more manageable. in the past i would just hide in my room and over eat, which was slowly killing me i can only imagine. i want to find a way to be a functional person, so if anyone has any personal experiences that may help, please share.

Comments

• Do they line up with the start of SK?
  • get some benzos, valium, diapam,xanax.. if you dont get those.. then stop smoking weed :P
  • start smoking weed :P

Fixed
  • Try walking, working out, swimming. It sounds like you aren't finding ways to alleviate stress.
  • Never been a panic attack guy. I would try going for a walk.
  • edited September 2014
    Hey, I'm no expert and still dealing with this myself, but here's something..

I have tried many different medications for my anxiety, and I do get attacks (although not as frequent any more). Sure, you can take Xanax every day for it as Lovsan said -- but your tolerance is going to get out of control and eventually you will be in deep shit. Think it's bad now, just imagine once you are switching medications and have to withdraw from a benzo that you've been prescribed multiple times daily for a year.

One thing I learned is that you can't just sit there and try to fight your panic attack. You're going to go batshit crazy, freaking out over whatever triggered it, and then you're going to pass out or do whatever you do anyways (Yeah, a bad one for me sends my eyes to the back of my head and me to the floor if I try to tough it out).